Would it be really weird to sell my hair?

Whenever I mention to my friends that I’ve thought about selling my hair, sometimes they look at me in a way that says “How did I ever become friends with this person?”

And I get it! Before I looked into it, the only association I had with the practice of selling hair was from the classic Christmas story, The Gift of the Magi.  You know, the one the husband and wife are dirt poor but so in love and so selfless that the wife cuts off her knee length hair (and the story makes it clear that her hair is like her only selling point) to buy a chain for her husband’s watch, BUT MEANWHILE the husband sells his watch (his most prized possession – remember who he’s married to?) to buy his wife a beautiful set of combs.  Neither spouse tells the other what they are up to, and on Christmas morning they realize why a clear channel of communication is so important in an relationship. Oh, the [situational] irony!

I'll admit, this is what I originally thought a "set of combs" was. Was really questioning the husband's judgement on that one.

Okay since I might sell my hair, I guess I should put it out there to any friends planning on buying me a beautiful set of combs: please don’t.

Ok, great! Now that I’ve gotten that out of the way…  er no I still feel really weird about it.  Originally I was just going to donate my hair to Locks of Love, which I’ve done before. But then I read some articles that raised questions about the charity’s practice of selling “unusable” hair to offset manufacturing costs. There seemed to be some heavy implications that these hair donations may not all be going to children with alopecia.  In an unrelated story, “Hear the Secrets behind Real Housewife of New Jersey Teresa Giudice’s Thick, Luscious Hair!”

The secret to my hair is THAT YOU NEED TO STFU AND STOP ASKING QUESTIONS.

Upon this discovery, I thought that maybe I would just sell my hair, make some money, and then donate to an organization that supports children with hair loss.  So I looked into it.  BuyandSellHair.com is the “#1 Human Hair Global Marketplace.”  I wish they would just call it “EBAY BUT FOR HAIR.”  I’m a bit skeptical of Hairwork.com, simply because they seem content with the website design they started with in 1997.  Oh but wait they also sell horse hair by the pound.

Really an as of yet unsurpassed level of convenience

Mmmmm I don’t know if I can do this. Most likely I won’t. Maybe. I don’t know, probably not. Should I?

Leave a Reply

